Asian frittata

Asian frittata

The crisp vegetables contrast nicely with the taste of soy sauce and ginger to make this a real change of pace.

For most of my recipes, I have come up with the basic idea on my own. I will then often look at recipes online to get ideas to refine my original concept. This one is not my own idea. I found the recipe online and just modified the quantities to make it work as a 3-egg frittata for one person.

As a (retired) academic, I am acutely sensitive to the importance of giving appropriate credit when using the ideas of others. But I found the recipe and first made this frittata long before I ever thought of doing this blog, so I had not recorded the source. I went online and did a Google search for “Asian frittata” and found pages and pages of Asian frittata recipes, some very similar to this one, some quite different. I could not identify the source from which had I adapted my recipe. And I would have had no way of knowing whether they had developed the recipe themselves or had taken in from one of the other Asian frittata recipes. I tried.

Asian frittata

1/2 cup snow peas trimmed and cut into thirds
1/3 cup diced red bell pepper
2 scallions, thinly sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup bean sprouts (fresh, if possible)

3 eggs
2 teaspoons soy sauce
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
oil

Cook snow peas in boiling water until barely tender, only about 30 seconds. Drain the water from the snow peas..

Heat oil in the pan and cook the garlic, scallions, and red pepper for about 3 minutes until they just are starting to get tender. Remove from pan.

Put the eggs into a good-sized mixing bowl, add the soy sauce and ginger, and beat just to mix them up. Add a bit more oil to the pan if needed and let it get hot. Add a small amount of egg mixture to the pan to set the bottom of the frittata to prevent sticking. Turn the heat down to medium low. Mix the snow peas, bean sprouts, and red pepper and scallions into the eggs and pour the mixture into the pan. Cook this for about 5 minutes to set the bottom and sides.

Preheat the broiler. When the 5 minutes cooking on the stove are up, place the pan under the broiler, about 6 to 7 inches below. Cook until the top is set and just starts to brown. This is about 1–1/2 to 2 minutes for me, but watch closely.

Remove from the broiler, loosen up the sides with a spatula if necessary, and slide the frittata out onto the serving plate.

Leave a Reply

